Service, which supplies development and evaluation research and the Administration Division which provides financial and management services, and personnel and information services.

The Canada Manpower and Immigration Council, the Immigration Appeal Board and the Unemployment Insurance Commission report to Parliament through the Minister of Manpower and Immigration.

Department of National Defence. The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces operate under the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The control and management of all matters relating to national defence, the Canadian Armed Forces and the Defence Research Board are the responsibility of the Minister of National Defence; duties and functions relating to civil emergency operations in peace and war are also assigned to the Department, with the Canadian Forces undertaking the role.

The Canadian Forces Reorganization Act of 1968 unified the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force into a single service called the Canadian Armed Forces. The civilian administration of the Department is organized under the Deputy Minister, who maintains control over the financial aspects of operational policy, logistics, and personnel and administration. The Defence Research Board, created in 1947, conducts research relating to the defence of Canada and also undertakes the development of or improvements in materiel.

A Defence Council, consisting of the Minister of National Defence as Chairman, the Deputy Minister of National Defence, the Chief of the Defence Staff, the Chairman of the Defence Research Board and the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff, meets at regular intervals to consider and advise on major policy matters.

The Crown corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Defence. The Emergency Measures Organization (EMO) reports to the Minister of National Defence through the Deputy Minister.

Department of National Health and Welfare. This Department was established in October 1944 under the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1970, c.N-9). An Administration Branch serves both the health and the welfare branches. At present the Deputy Minister of Health administers four branches: Health Programs, Health Protection, Medical Services and Long Range Health Planning; the Deputy Minister of Welfare administers six branches: Income Security, International and Emergency Welfare, Social Allowances and Services, Canada Pension Plan, Policy Research Planning and Evaluation, and Developmental Programs. The two Deputy Ministers are also involved in Canada's role in international health and welfare programs.

Departmental programs on health include hospital insurance and diagnostic services, medical care insurance, health resources, food and drug supervision, narcotics control, national health grants, federal emergency health services, environmental health, adverse drug reaction reporting, operation of a central clearing house for poison control centres, health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Eskimos across Canada and all residents of the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories, government employee health services and leprosy control as well as assistance and consultation services to the provinces on request.

Welfare programs including the Canada Pension Plan, old age security and guaranteed income supplements, family and youth allowances, the Canada Assistance Plan and emergency welfare are largely of an income-support nature. In addition, the Department administers a fitness and amateur sport program, and a system of grants for professional training and research.

The National Council of Welfare reports directly to the Minister who also reports to Parliament for the Medical Research Council.

Department of National Revenue. From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue. It operates now under RSC 1970, c.N-15.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of sales and excise taxes. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes, old age security tax, Part I of the Canada Pension Plan, and collection of premiums and administration of the coverage provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act through its 28 district taxation offices and its Taxation Data Centre.

Department of Public Works. The Department was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act (RSC 1970, c.P-38). It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and protection work. Federal government interest in the Trans-Canada Highway and the Northwest Highway System is also handled by the Department. The Department has regional offices at Halifax, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver; subsidiary offices at other key points across the country are also maintained. Departmental organization includes four major areas of operation: Design